idahodanax.blogg.se

Athlon midas gen 2 scope
Athlon midas gen 2 scope






athlon midas gen 2 scope

The innovative XPL coated lenses give you “Xtra Protective Lens” coating that protects them from moisture, oil, dirt and smudges. The 4.5-27x50 Riflescope model comes equipped with advanced multi-coating to give you the brightest, clearest long-distance image possible, in any situation.

athlon midas gen 2 scope

The new Athlon Optics Midas BTR Gen 2 Riflescopes are upgraded with features like True Zero Stop, 25 MOA travel per rotation and total 75 MOA elevation adjustment, stainless steel inner parts that give you the tactical, crisp, and audible turrets, and an improved optical design. At this point in time, the original Cronus pre-BTR & Ares BTR reticles are my favored ones.Athlon Optics Midas BTR Gen 2 4.5-27x50 Riflescope (AHMR SFP IR MOA Reticle) - 213023 Maybe using some illumination would deal with this issue, but at least to my eye, a heavier (within limits) aiming point works better for me, and the pre-BTR's thicker + aiming point does't obscure even small targets. The point I'm trying to make is that, while I thought I'd prefer a reticle with a small dot aiming point after the aggravation of having my AMR ret's four-dot aiming point obscure small targets, I've found that any advantage such a fine aiming point has is negated by not being able to see it well enough to be useful while shooting movers or under extreme time limits, depending on the background.

athlon midas gen 2 scope

The newer BTR ret's + aiming point is still usable in that mag range, but I actually prefer the old pre-BTR in that respect. I've used several of Athlon's Cronus scopes with the pre-BTR + aiming point, and while it might appear to some to be too heavy/thick, it's just about perfect for shooting movers, especially since I like to dial down to 10x-12x for movers. I doubt Kahles' SKMR 3 ret has a large enough dot to help much with this issue, though to be honest, I've never seen one in person to compare to the Athlon dot. I've also got a Midas TAC 6-24x50 with the dot reticle, and it's the same story. Never did pull the trigger on an SKMR 3, but when Athlon brought out their Ares ETR with floating dot reticle, I ordered in a few of them, only to discover that their dot is so small that I can't see it well enough on anything but a white background to be useful at under 16x. When they announced the SKMR3, thought I might prefer to have one of those, simply because the center aiming point of the AMR was large enough to cover up really small targets, even at 300yds. I bought several Kahles K624i scopes with their AMR reticle, and really enjoyed shooting behind these scopes. But I've not spent any serious effort in comparing the Ares BTR to the Midas TAC. The toughest part of comparing these scopes at longer distances is finding a day w/o a tremendous amount of mirage, so I can at least get a fair idea of resolution/clarity at 600.ĮTA - Forgot to mention that I've got several Cronus scopes & an Ares ETR on rifles, and while I believe there's very little difference in optical quality between those two lines, they're both superior to the glass in the Ares BTR & Midas TAC - not that there's a huge difference, I've shot the Ares BTRs at 600yds quite a bit, and it's plenty good enough to get the job done. The Ares BTRs OTOH, are mounted on CF rifles from 20 Tactical up to 7mm-08 Improved 30*, so it'll see fairly regular use at 600 & beyond. I've not shot the Midas TAC out past 210yds so far, and since it's mounted on a 22LR, it's probably not ever going to be used much past 300yds. If the glass is essentially the same in both models (and I think it's very, very close to the same), then it boils down to the better turret clicks of the Midas, and illumination on the Ares. What I need to do to get a better feel for any difference between the Ares BTR & Midas TAC is to get rifles with both down to the 600yd range and see if I can detect any noticeable difference between optical quality of each. But what's HD glass? I guess HD=high definition? Is HD used in any other brand's advertising? Don't get me wrong - I've got a Midas TAC 6-24x50 on a V-22 Ranch, and it's got very good glass, at least as good as any of the Ares BTRs I have on four CF rifles. I think we're all used to the notion that ED glass is supposed to reduce chromatic aberration & produce brighter, truer colors. I'm wondering about Athlon's use of the term "HD" vs "ED" when it comes to advertising the type of glass various scopes have in them.








Athlon midas gen 2 scope